top of page

A Pioneer in the World of Comedy


“They’re putting in a Sephora upstairs? Oh screw this, I’m going to work there!” Mindy shouts in a room packed with her gynecology associates. This humorous outburst is just one of many on Mindy Kaling’s show, The Mindy Project. No matter how much I might disagree with Mindy’s life choices in each episode, I can’t help but roar at her wit and sass. However, I’m getting ahead of myself, because Mindy landed a crucial job before creating her own TV series: why yes, I am talking about The Office.

I remember sitting in the kitchen with my mom and sister on Thursday nights when I was in middle school, laughing at the crazy antics of Michael Scott and the diverse personalities that made The Office a charming, and yet absurd comedy. I always thought it was intriguing how Mindy was one of the lead writers for the show, since she already played a supporting role in the series. I suppose it was this unique situation that instigated my curiosity into her life, and how she landed that job.

A few years after The Office concluded, I was scrolling through potential books to purchase on my mom’s kindle, when I spotted the title: “Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns)”. “That’s my life too! I need to read this!” I thought. As I read each chapter, I was constantly inspired by Mindy’s courage to step into the male-dominated script-writing world on a show centered around male humor, no less. Eventually though, she became a powerful role model for women in show business by creating her own series, which is now featured on Hulu every Tuesday.

On The Mindy Project, I love Mindy’s humor. There is something so distinctive about her jokes that causes every viewer to say “That’s me”! However, I was recently struck by yet another reason of why I feel so empowered by watching Mindy. Oddly enough, I realized it by watching other comedy shows. While I appreciate female comedians and their significant contributions to the comedic realm, I must admit that it depresses me to watch shows that showcase women being constantly overpowered, objectified, and under-respected by men. For instance, though I love Tina Fey, on 30 Rock, her character Liz Lemon is constantly sexualized and humiliated by her lazy and incompetent male co-workers, and though she attempts to stand up to them, she always retreats into her shell (office) and continues to sulk and self-deprecate. On the other hand, while Mindy still pokes fun at her life and the awkward situations she finds herself in, she manages to do so while laughing at herself and carrying an attitude of self-assurance and comfort with who she is.

In my own life, I aspire to be more like this; unashamed for who I am and what I care about, and comfortable with my weird habits and quirks, even if that means admitting that I love knitting and watching old Hallmark Channel movies in my spare time. It’s okay to be different, as long as I’m different and confident.


bottom of page